Winmore alerts you to new information in the system. This helps keep you apprised of updates that may be pertinent to you, such as task assignments, at-mentions or workflow advancements. There are two methods by which the system will notify you: (1) via email and (2) via the Recommend and Unread menus.
Email notifications are either system-generated or configured specifically for your organization by your system admins. You can control the system-generated notifications in your settings profile. For more information on that, check out this article.
Recommended and Unread
Users will begin to receive Recommended notifications only if 1.) they have been @-mentioned in the Conversation for the record or 2.) if they have visited a record. Once one of these two things has happened, the user will be notified each time there is a new Conversation post on that record. Those notifications will be visible in the Unread Messages menu as well highlighted under the Recommended section of the left navigation menu.
Note that having a role on the record will not result in receiving Recommendations. You will only receive a Recommendation if you have specifically visited the record or been @-mentioned.
In the above screenshot, you'll see that records with activity appear both in your Unread Conversations page as well as are emboldened in the left navigation menu. If someone has @-mentioned you in the conversation, you'll also see a green badge with the number of times you've been @-mentioned. These are also highlighted in the Conversation with green badge @-sign to the left of the conversation post.
Email and Recommended/Unread
You may have noticed that you can receive both an Email alert as well as having the same information flagged in your Recommended/Unread section. This is by design to give you the flexibility to choose which works best for you!
For information on limiting email notifications, check out this article.
Mark as Read or Mute?
If you click Mark as Read, the notification will disappear from your unread messages screen as well as fall off of the Recommended menu. However, any new Conversation posts will pop-up as a new notification and Recommendation.
If you Mute the Conversation, using the silence icon indicated below, you will no longer receive updates when information is posted to the Conversation. If you should visit the record or be @-mentioned again, it will reinstate the notifications.
If you choose to Mute a Starred Record, it will also remove the record from your Starred Menu.